Leave a comment

Pironkova: I will not seek an excuse for the loss


Tsvetana Pironkova was satisfied with her match against Maria Kirilenko, although she was defeated 1-6, 4-6. At the press conference Tsveti said that despite her determination to win she was exhausted from the match with Jie Zheng.

“Maria played very well, she was the better player on the court and deserved the victory. I am not completely recovered, but I don’t seek for any excuse. The result is what it is,” said Pironkova.

“The good side of the loss? From every match I can learn something. Every match is good for me as experience, even if it is just sparing. I think today I played better than I did on Tuesday,” added Tsveti.

“Tomorrow I have a day off, which is good for me. I will be in the arena and I would like to watch the match between Petrova and Kirilenko. They are very different players. Nadia has an aggressive style, while Maria is more defensive. I played against Petrova on clay in Brussels where I defeated her. My game was really good.”

When asked if Petrova and Kirilenko could fix the match , Pironkova said : “This is absurd. There is no match fixing in tennis.

Leave a Reply

