Leave a comment

Pironkova will play in the semifinals, Kirilenko pulls out


Tsvetana Pironkova secures her place in the semi-finals at Qatar Airways Tournament of Champions in advance. This became a fact, after the Russian Maria Kirilenko pulled out due to upper respiratory illness.

The Bulgarian will reach in the next round even if she loses her match against Nadia Petrova on Friday and a victory for Jie Zheng against the first alternate from Sweden Sofia Arvidsson. If two players have equal scores, the most important will be the match between two of them. Pironkova won her match against the Chinese 2-6,6-4,7-6.

If Pironkova wins against the Russian, she will be the leader in group “Sredetz”.

“I’m very sorry that I cannot continue to play my matches here at the Qatar Airways Tournament of Champions. It was such an honor to receive the wildcard and I just want to thank tournament director Stefan Tzvetkov for giving me the chance to compete here in Sofia. Unfortunately with this illness I can’t finish the tournament as I’d have wished, but I’ve really enjoyed my time in Bulgaria and hope to be back,” Kirilenko said.

Leave a Reply

